Dismissals

Unless specifically noted, most violations are not eligible for dismissal by the court. By law, those that are eligible can only be dismissed if the defendant takes very specific corrective action within a specified time. Below we have provided general information concerning the requirements for a dismissal. If you believe you qualify for a dismissal you must bring any receipts for repairs or renewals concerning when and how you corrected this defect to the Bedford Municipal Court. Most dismissals require that you pay a small fee at the time you appear at the court. See individual violations listed below for additional information.

Fail to Maintain Financial Responsibility (No Insurance)


Potential for Dismissal: The defendant must appear at the Municipal Court office during normal business hours with proof of valid insurance covering the defendant on the date and at the time of the offense. A clerk will call to verify this information. The defendant must appear at the court on or before the Court response date on the front of the citation to have the citation presented to the judge for possible dismissal. There is no fee for a dismissal of this violation.

Expired Driver's License


Potential for Dismissal: Within 20 days of receiving the citation, the defendant must present proof to the court that the Driver's License was renewed in order to be eligible to have the citation dismissed. There is a $10 fee for this dismissal.

Failure to Display Driver's License


The defendant must present proof to the court of an appropriate and valid Texas driver's license issued in their name on or before the court appearance date on their citation to be eligible to have the citation dismissed.

Failure to Report Address or Name Change on Driver's License


Potential for Dismissal: The defendant must present proof to the court that the address was corrected on the driver's license no later than the 20th working day after receiving the citation in order to be eligible for a dismissal. There is a $10 fee for this dismissal.

Violation of Driver's License Restrictions


Potential for Dismissal: The defendant must see the judge and make appropriate arrangements with the Texas Department of Public Safety and have the restriction(s) removed or corrected before their first appearance in court in order to be eligible to have the citation dismissed. There is a $10 fee for this dismissal.

Expired License Plate / Vehicle Registration


Potential for Dismissal: The dismissal fee is $10 if proof of registration is submitted in person to the Court on or before the Court response date on the front of the citation. This proof must demonstrate that the defect (violation) was corrected within 20 working days from the violation date.

Required as Proof: A dated vehicle registration receipt indicating that the "penalty fee" was paid to County Tax Assessor.

Operating a Vehicle Without Both License Plates


Potential for Dismissal: The defendant must present proof to the court that the defect has been corrected on or before the Court appearance date on the citation in order to be eligible for a dismissal. Proof would normally involve photo's of the front and back license plates on the vehicle. The fee for this dismissal is $10.