Recruiting Process FAQs
- Do I need to submit all my documents before testing?
No, once your online application is completed you will be called in for an initial interview and testing. Upon successful completion of the interview and test, you will be given a personal history statement (PHS) to complete. All requested documents such as transcripts, DD-214, etc. must be turned in prior to completion of background.
- How long does the hiring process generally take?
The process takes approximately eight to ten weeks, depending on factors in your background.
- May I submit a resume?
Yes, you may submit a resume at the time of application.
- What types of questions are on the police written examination?
The exam is an online test through a third-party contractor. The exam is multiple choice and measures things such as deductive reasoning, inductive reasoning, information gathering, math and grammar. There is a 1.5 hour time limit to complete the exam.
- Does the Bedford Police Department offer a study guide for the written examination?
Yes. A study guide will be provided to the applicant. However, this information is only provided to applicants who are invited to the Police Officer Examination.
- What can I expect on testing day?
You will be given the written examination and those who pass the exam will immediately participate in the Row Evaluation.
- What is the attire for the various steps of the hiring process?
Please wear business attire for all stages of the hiring process except for the physical fitness test. Please bring a set of workout clothes to change into for the physical agility test.
- Are there any age or physical limitations on who can apply to be a police officer?
A police officer must be at least 21 years old to be licensed in Texas. There is no maximum age limit to apply for the Bedford Police Department. If you are fit enough to pass the Row Evaluation, medical examination, and complete the police academy (if necessary), there are no physical limitations on who can apply.
- Does the Bedford Police Department have a policy on tattoos and beards?
Non-offensive tattoos are allowed to be visible. It is the policy of the Bedford Police Department that tattoos or brands that are prejudicial to good order are prohibited. Additionally, while on or off duty in uniform or on duty in civilian attire, employees are prohibited from exhibiting tattoos, body art, or brands that are offensive or demeaning to persons of ordinary sensibilities. Goatees are permitted but must adhere to the traditional style and be kept neat, clean, and short.
- Do I have to live in Bedford to be a Bedford police officer?
No, you do not have to live in Bedford to serve as a police officer; however, if you are in an on-call capacity you must be able to respond within one hour.
- Do I have to attend a police academy?
Yes, unless you are already Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) certified, you will be required to attend and complete the police academy of our choosing.
- When is the next police academy?
The Bedford Police Department uses two different police academies to train new recruits. Once hired, Police Officer Recruits will be sent to the next academy of Bedford PD's choice.
- Are there any fees or costs that I would need to pay for attending the academy?
Once hired, the Bedford Police Department will pay you a salary, provide full benefits to you and your family, and pay for the cost of the academy. The only items you are required to pay for yourself are footwear and gym clothes for the physical fitness training during the academy.
- What is the police academy like?
The academy hours are generally 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The training curriculum is an adult education program, with practical and physical fitness training.
- If I am sent to a Police Academy, is there a minimum service time commitment?
- Can I be considered if I have used marijuana or other drugs / narcotics in the past?
This will depend on the time of the last usage and frequency of usage. The minimum requirements state no drug use within the past five years and no marijuana use within the last three years.
- What will happen if I intentionally omit important information or am found to be deceptive in the hiring process regarding my background history?
Honesty and integrity are important facets of police work. If you are found to have intentionally omitted important information or are found to being deceptive, you will be permanently disqualified from the hiring process.
- Polygraph/Psychological Exam
Police recruits and dispatch applicants are required to pass a psychological and polygraph exam. These tests are administered after a conditional job offer is made to the applicant. The Bedford Police Department incurs the cost of these tests and they are conducted off-site by a third-party contractor. The applicant will be required to complete additional paperwork prior to their appointment with poly/psych examiner. Administration of the exams will take approximately half a day and are administered Monday- Friday. Failure of either exam will result in the application being rejected. Should the applicant fail either exam, he or she will not be allowed to appeal.
- What are the main areas that disqualify applicants?
The main areas which disqualify applicants include:
- Criminal activity
- Excessive drug use
- Failure of any test
- Incomplete application
- Poor credit history
- Poor driving record
- Poor educational performance
- Unstable or unacceptable work history
- I have been disqualified or was previously disqualified from the hiring process. How long do I need to wait before I can reapply?
That depends on why you were disqualified. If you fail the written test, Row Evaluation, or the Oral Review Board, you may reapply six months after the disqualification. You may reapply after one year if you fail the psychological examination. Any other disqualification will result in a minimum disqualification of one year or possible permanent disqualification.
- As an out of state applicant, how many trips will I need to make to Bedford during the hiring process?
Generally, three trips are necessary. One trip is for the initial testing, the second for the Preliminary Background Interview & Oral Review Board, and the third for the polygraph, psychological, and medical / drug screen. Contact the Bedford PD at 817.952.2440 for more information.
- I am a police officer in another state. What is the process of being licensed in Texas?
Go to the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) website and review the Out of State Application Process in the Forms and Applications section. Out of state officers must complete the mandated training and may challenge the state test for certification.
- How many sworn officers does the Bedford Police Department have?
The Bedford PD has 81 Sworn Police Officer positions.
- I was discharged from the military with a General Discharge Under Honorable Conditions or an Uncharacterized Discharge. Is this acceptable to apply for the Bedford Police Department?
Applicants will not be considered if they were discharged under less than honorable conditions. All other discharges (such as uncharacterized) will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.
- Is there any way to skip patrol and go directly into a specialized unit?
No. All new officers must complete field training before being eligible for transfers or promotions.
- Does the Bedford Police Department furnish all my uniforms and equipment?
The Bedford Police Department will furnish you all the required uniforms and equipment except footwear.
- Does the Bedford Police Department require my college hours be in Criminal Justice?
No. The Bedford PD accepts any classes from an accredited college or university as defined by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Rule 211.1(a)(3).
- When do benefits start?
Benefits start on the first day of the month after you are hired.
- What shifts do patrol officers work?
Our patrol officers work 12-hour shifts. We have two day shifts and two night shifts, with Wednesday being the swing day as follows:
Work Days: Sunday - Wednesday (First Week), Sunday - Tuesday (Second Week)
Off Days: Thursday - Saturday (First Week), Wednesday - Saturday (Second Week)
Work Days: Thursday - Saturday (First Week), Wednesday - Saturday (Second Week)
Off Days: Sunday - Wednesday (First Week), Sunday - Tuesday (Second Week)
- 6 a.m. - 6 p.m.
- 7 a.m. - 7 p.m.
- 6 p.m. - 6 a.m.
- 7 p.m. - 7 a.m.
80 hours worked over each two week pay period comprised of six 12-hour shifts and one 8-hour shift
- What specialized divisions does the Bedford Police Department offer?
The Bedford Police Department has various divisions, specialized units and rotational positions available, to include:
- Criminal Investigations
- Traffic Division
- Directed Patrol Division
- Behavioral Intervention Unit
- Mid-Cities Narcotics Task Force
- UAS Team - Unmanned Aerial Surveillance (Drone)
- Honor Guard
- School Resource Officer
- Community Services
- FBI Violent Crimes Task Force (Starting in 2022)
- Training and Recruiting